SR-22 Insurance

If you are researching SR-22 Insurance in california, it is most likely because you have been recently involved in a DUI incident.  (it is also sometimes required for those driving without proof of insurance or under a suspended license, or for some other forms of violations that might lead to your driver’s license being suspended.)

What you are probably rapidly discovering is that there is no such thing as a “cheap SR-22,” as compared with regular coverage.  However, at IIS we are committed to finding you the lowest quote possible.

Of course, it is not just about finding the lowest quote, but finding the best coverage overall, when it comes to matching your needs.

What is SR22 Insurance?

It is a form required by the Department of Motor Vehicles when a driver has a DUI offense reported.  The form (very similar to the SR-1 form which is used to report traffic accidents) is filed by your provider showing that you have obtained coverage through them.  It is actually a proof of financial responsibility that the DMV requires after such traffic incidents. (Most providers require a minor fee of $15 to $25 for filing.)

In the event of a DUI, the California Department of Motor Vehicles will not reissue your driver’s license without one.  That means that you cannot simply bring your policy number and valid ID into the DMV in order to have your license returned to you.  Your coverage must be filled out and filed by your provider.

If you have been dropped by your previous carrier because of your accident, you must then find insurance with this type of coverage in order to regain your driver’s license.  Once you have found your new carrier, your the company you work with will submit the form to the Department of Motor Vehicles, allowing you to regain your license.

Sorting Through Quotes in California

Even without dealing with the tangles related to having to get high-risk insurance, quotes can be hard to sort through.  To figure out exactly what is covered and what you will need to pay seems to require a graduate degree in policies at times.

This is where we come in.  We will help you sort through the confusing thicket of policy jargon to find the best quote for you.  Going it alone when it comes to finding coverage can not only be disheartening—forcing you to give the details of your situation over and over again– but may also not achieve the end you would like: to find the best quote for you.

Our experienced agents will take care of the footwork for you and make sure that you get the best, most affordable coverage for your situation.  Because we aggregate several companies, we can quickly find and compare one quote to another and, using our in-depth knowledge and experience, decipher which is actually the better bargain.

We then present you with your options so that you can make a decision that is both clear and informed, and so that you don’t find yourself regretting the choice you made a few months later.

How long must I carry high-risk coverage in California?

Typically, high-risk coverage must be carried for three years from the time that your driver’s license is re-issued.  That means that once you have completed the original 4 month suspension of driving privileges, you then must carry it for 3 full calendar years (July 2023 to July 2026, for example).

During the four month suspension period, you may be able to receive a restricted license which will allow you to drive to and from your place of employment. Ask your agent about the procedure for this.

How long will it take for me to be considered a “good driver” again?

If before your DUI you were considered a “good driver” by your provider, it will take you a full 10 years to regain that status.  For example, if you received a DUI in August of 2010, your DMV record will continue to show your DUI until August of 2020.  Because of a recent law, when you apply for insurance, your carrier will have access to your DMV records, so changing carriers will not change your status.

Once you have cleared this 10 year period, so long as you do not have further incidents, you will be eligible to return to “good driver” status.

What Is Non-Owner Coverage?

Some drivers falsely believe that the non-owner policy offers a loophole in California’s requirement. This is not a solution, however.  Even though, you may sometimes be required to carry a non-owner high-risk policy in order to retain a license, this is usually only a minimum requirement.

If you own your own vehicle or drive the vehicle of someone in your household (for example, your spouse’s vehicle) or if you are provided a vehicle you use frequently (for example, by your employer), a non-owner policy will not cover you.  Non-owner coverage will only cover a driver while they are using a third-party vehicle that they do not habitually use and that is not part of the driver’s household.

In fact, even when you are driving the appropriate vehicle, non-owner coverage will only cover damage you do to other persons, vehicles and property—not any damage or injury that may occur to you or the vehicle you are driving.  Furthermore, this kind of coverage will only cover damage up to the amount specified in the policy.

For that reason, you should generally avoid this kind of insurance unless you are mandated by the Department of Motor Vehicles to carry it or do not intend to drive habitually.

Our Pledge to You

At IIS, we know that negotiating the ins-and-outs of a SR22 poilcy in California is no picnic. We have helped hundreds of drivers in the state find the best matched, most affordable rates they need in order to move on with their lives and put their accidents behind them—and we can help you as well.

Just give us a call today and take the first steps towards getting your life back.